Welcome to Foresight For Development


South African Cities Network

The South African Cities Network is an established network of South African cities and partners that encourages the exchange of information, experience and best practices on urban development and city management.

The SACN was formerly launched on 7 October 2002, following a series of consultations during 2001 between the Minister of the then Department of Provincial and Local Governments (dplg), Hon. Minister Sidney Mufumadi, the Mayors and City Managers of nine major cities in South Africa, and the South African Local Government Association (SALGA).
The SACN member cities are:
Buffalo City
City of Cape Town
Ekurhuleni Metropolitan
City of Joburg
Mangaung Municipality
Msunduzi Municipality
Nelson Mandela Bay Metropolitan
City of Tshwane

Foresight For Development - Funding for this uniquely African foresight site was generously provided by Rockefeller Foundation. Email Us | Creative Commons Deed | Terms of Conditions

Top Desktop version